On Opening to the Wisdom Behind the Suffering

Standard

Sometimes the completely open heart and mind of bodhichitta is called the soft spot, a place as vulnerable and tender as an open wound.”

I read this excerpt from Pema Chodron‘s The Places That Scare You, and I couldn’t help but appreciate how timely the wisdom was. Insecurity came up for me, and I just had to sit with the discomfort and craziness in my own head.

I read the above and thought about the own suffering I cause myself in my insecurity. Then, I realized:

When we are suffering, … when our wounds are opened wide, … we are the most open we can be to the deeper truths of the human experience trying to find their way into our hearts.

3 thoughts on “On Opening to the Wisdom Behind the Suffering

Leave a Reply

