On Choosing Our Thoughts

Standard

This morning, I took to the mat, wanting desperately to return to center and anchor myself in Peace and Balance before starting my day. After doing a particular intense asana (yoga pose), I let the sensations subside and allowed my body to receive the wisdom from my practice.

What I got was this: Our thoughts don’t just impose themselves on us. They are like guests. It is our choice to receive them and have them stay at home in our mind, or to ask them to leave if they are not welcome. Some thoughts are like squatters: We allow them to overstay their welcome and soon we become used to their imposition. Those thoughts eventually become habits, which eventually become the deep-and-difficult-to-change conditioning we call addiction.

Which thoughts are we choosing to receive as our guests?

11 thoughts on “On Choosing Our Thoughts

Leave a Reply

