Practicing Vulnerability

Standard

The theme that came up consistently today was my fear of embarrassment. I am almost hyper-aware now of the ways in which I expend energy to maintain my appearance of being all put together, all in control. Yet, like the dam that is holding back the flood waters, eventually the pressure causes me to break, and it all comes pouring out at one time.

I have reflected before about the value of being vulnerable, especially about what I perceive to be my shortcomings. Yet, practicing vulnerability is a whole other level of challenge. The challenge has a huge return, though: To be vulnerable is to be more authentic, to show more of my true self to the world. And in showing more of my true self, I build trust with others. And in so doing, I recreate the conversation of who I am for myself and for those around me.

Leave a comment